Thank you to all of you (and an apology)!

As most of you know, writing is not my primary source of income. I am a help desk supervisor at the headquarters a pretty cool, global company. When I took a job with this company, I was up front in the interview process that I really didn’t aspire to be a supervisor… but I know my skills, and I knew that they were eyeing me for that. I was hired as a phone analyst, but less than a year later, the supervisor position was offered and accepted. At that time – and still, today – I saw ways I could make a good team even better.  Let’s face it, I like a challenge and I like doing a good job. I figured I’d get both out of that.

One nagging concern back then was that it would take up more time than I wanted to give it. I was assured it may take up a little more time, it wouldn’t be too much. I believe that statement turned out to be true, and I’m grateful. What I didn’t expect was the amount of stress this job would cause me, increasingly so every day, and immensely so this past week. Normally, I can handle stress in a job.

I think I discovered this week I can’t handle stress well in two jobs.

I am working with a brilliant photographer and designer to get all my covers redesigned for Emi Lost & Found. It has been a BLAST. Like, literally, I have enjoyed every second of it. But with my secondary source of income, there is still stress along the way, most of it in the unpredictable areas of vendors. I’m still the one making updates to the manuscript and uploading all the files to four different ebook retail sites. I have felt pulled in so many directions this week, making sure I jumped through all those hoops while promoting the first cover revealed and making the finishing touches on the other four.

Oh, and did I mention I decided to redesign the covers for my other series, Choisie, right smack in the middle of this?  The creative juices were flowing, and as any creative person will tell you, you don’t walk away from that.

And then! A major book blogger who was helping with promotion decided to take a chance on Emi Lost & Found. I’ve been following her for the better part of a year, and silently hoping she’d read the books. Well, she did this week, and I began to get a lot of traffic on Facebook, with lots of shares and mentions and posts and comments and it was AWESOME!

Or… it should have been awesome. But I didn’t have the time or energy to enjoy it… and that really sucked. I couldn’t really get involved in the conversations, and most importantly, I couldn’t properly thank all the people who have been involved in the recent success of my books!

I want to take the time to do that here!

First, thank you to Christi Allen Curtis, Katrina Boone, and Alex Wheelus. These covers are beyond my wildest expectations, and I think they are just as beautiful and unique as Emi Lost & Found, and – hell – as Emi Hennigan herself. I never imagined we would come up with covers so befitting of my books… but y’all made it happen.

Secondly, thank you to all the ladies on my street team: In addition to Christi and Katrina, we have Angela Meyer, Nikki Haw, Melissa Dean, Annie Walsh, Audrey Kay, Casey Corn, Cheryl Dent, Christen Fiermonti, Courtney Smith, Diana Arnau, Erin Spencer, Jamie Taliaferro, Jessica Lynn, Jo Ann Stevens, Kelli Spear, Lea Burn, Michelle Ochoa, Stacy Bundy, Stephanie Cobb, and Tiffany DeBlois. I know a lot of people don’t like the idea of street teams, but you know what? These women are all just readers who love my book, and want to make that known. In my mind, I’m just a coordinator of those actions, but even without the proper title, I feel confident that they wouldn’t do things any differently. They lift my spirits daily, and I don’t thank them enough for that.

Thirdly, thanks to the blogs/pages/groups who signed up to help promote the Emi Lost & Found series cover re-reveal: A Literary Perusal; A Pair of Okies; Aestas Book Blog, Alphas, Authors and Books Oh My; Book Club Philippines; Books Unhinged Book Blog; Butterflying Book Club; Denton Author Event; HEA Book Shelf; If These Boobs Could Talk; Kelsey’s Korner Blog; Knock Your Books Off; Lives & Breathes Book Blog; Lost in a Book Blog; M’s Sinful Reviews; Penned Con; Penny for My Thoughts Book Blog; Reading Books Like a Boss; Southern Belle Book Blog; The Book Outlook – St. Louis Book Club; The Scarlet Siren; Three Chicks and Their Books; To Be Read List; Triple M Bookclub; Vilma’s Book Blog; and We Like it Big Book Blog. If I missed your blog or page, you better call me out on that in the comments below so I can add you, but those were the initial ones who said yes to my call for help.

I also want to thank Aestas Book Blog for reading the books and for recognizing their uniqueness. All the posts you’ve had about my book have generated so many wonderful conversations among readers – those I know and so many I don’t know! They haven’t hurt with sales, either. ;) I can’t wait to see your final review. I’m not sure you know how much this experience has meant to me, and I’m sorry for not reveling in it more and being more involved.

Lastly, I want to thank all the readers, old and new. Some of the comments you’ve left have made me tear up and cry, which I know you all think I had coming, and I probably did. I poured my heart and soul into that series, and never imagined they’d be read by anyone other than my friends and my mom. I hoped, but I don’t think I ever could have predicted that I’d have people in the Philippines clamoring for my paperbacks (I’m still working on it!), or sweet messages from ladies in United Kingdom letting me know how much my books mean to them (thanks, ladies… you know who you are).

I still hope to be on a best seller list someday, and I’m not sure I’ll ever believe this series is a true success until I make it there. I’m an over-achiever and a dreamer… I have been since the day I was born, and I will be until the day I die. One thing is certain, though: the journey sure does get more and more interesting everyday!

Thanks to everyone who’s been a part of it!

Comments

  1. My friend Lydia just added me to this group and, just reading this post, I’m amazed at your list of contacts, etc. who help you get the word out. I wouldn’t know what a street team was if it wasn’t for a fellow author in my writer’s group. I look forward to getting more involved, helping others to get their work noticed and learn how to get mine noticed as well. It is a lot of work when you have a stressful job when you’re trying to write and promote. During at season I have two full-time jobs besides trying to write and promote. Good luck with everything you’ve got going on. :)

  2. You deserve to be a BEST SELLING AUTHOR! And we’re sure you’ll be one :)

  3. Awwwwww Lori… Your SO sweet!! You’re so very welcome! I’m not sure you’ll ever know how much I have LOVED being a part of this journey! It has been so much fun, I had no idea while I was reading this amazing, emotional and life changing series that I would one day be a part of it and WOW I feel like I am now, having helped bring Emi to life!
    When your a best selling author will you still chat with little old me?? I sure hope so, I’ve enjoyed it!!
    For now, I will wait for the beautiful new paperbacks and I will prepare to take myself on Emi’s journey once again!
    ❤️❤️❤️ you and your amazing talent!

  4. You deserve it all and more.

    Love ya, Lori.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,177 other followers

