Writing

We Have Lift-off!

So, today is my last day to write the story of Nate, Emi and Jack… until December at least. I pulled an all-nighter, mainly reading but writing a little, and may do the same tonight just to pour as much into it as I can.

It was a good day. I’ve let two people read the novel… one hasn’t gotten past the first part, but the second one finished what I had sent her, and she said she loved it! She had constructive criticism, too, but it really did sound like she enjoyed it, really got to know the characters. That makes me so freakin’ happy.

The other friend has had a more difficult time reading it, and I’m accepting of that. It’s a guy, so admittedly, he’s probably not exactly my target. He is going to continue reading, and he will continue to give me a ton of things to consider. I trust his opinion, too, so I’m looking forward to him continuing with the story.

November 1st begins NaNoWriMo, and although leaving my characters is going to feel like abandoning my children, I’m going to do it. They are always in me, with me, so hopefully they’ll cheer me on in my next novel. 😉 I’ve got two ideas in mind for NaNoWriMo…

The first: writing about the countdown to a friend’s wedding (60 days), and the pursuit of the heroine to find her “plus one.” True chic lit, but hopefully it would be funny and would likely draw upon some of my own personal experiences. I’m pretty self-effacing. One of my strengths. Can that be a strength? Well, it is now.

The second idea: a little darker, but something I’ve been wanting to write about. I’m not sure if it’s fiction or not… but I really want to explore the seemingly-frequent occurrence of infidelity in marriages told from a single woman’s point of view. I have a lot of ideas about this.

I have about seven hours to figure it out. 🙂 I guess the good thing is, I have two ideas in there, so if one doesn’t get addressed now, it’ll be there for later.

Leave a Reply

