Pheck! I’m a week into November and I’m still working with the first novel. After meeting with my friend, Trisha, and getting her feedback, I’ve been feverishly working on edits. And to top it off, I finally got John to start reading it again and we’ve been having some nice late-night collaborations. I just can’t leave them behind.

So I’m not giving up the goal to NaNoWriMo. The 50,000 word-thing. Admittedly, I won’t “win” if I don’t have a NEW 50,000 word novel by the end of this, but I am still going to write 50,000 words by the end of the month. Whether they all be in “Emi Lost and Found” or partly in that and partly in “Untitled Novel No. 2,” I’m not sure.

My word count total so far is 10,509. That’s about 1,000 less than where I should be (calculating 1,666 words/day). (At about 3am on November 1, I was at 265,768, so that’s my base number… this is for my reference more than anyone else’s.)

I still intend to go to the writing sessions… the goal is to be surrounded by inspired and inspiring people, and that’s what I think I’ll get out of it. I hope they would agree with my decision to stay with the characters whose lives in which I’m already entrenched. I do realize, though, I’ll have to cut this off at some point, or I may never finish. I’m going to try to have this round of edits done by the end of the month. Hopefully sooner, and then I can at least begin UN#2 in November.

I’m not taking this as failure at all. It just is what it is. I’m pretty proud of how far I’ve come, what I’ve written, and the story that I’ve told. I’m biased, but I do think it’s beautiful and the characters become more and more real every day.