Writing

Short Stories 2010

Well, I wrote to my heart’s content, and submitted two stories to the 79th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition. It feels good to have a couple of entries, but I don’t think they’re as good as “Love, Lost.” I’m going to make a point to try to think of good subject matter for 2011.

The stories this year were still Emi Lost & Found-related. The first was a tweak of the first chapter of the novel, all refitted with a happy ending. The second was… well, I can’t say. Let’s just say it was from the saddest part of the novel, told from the other character’s point of view. I changed the names, though, just in case. I don’t want anyone to have the story ruined in the very remote chance that the short story wins and gets published. Let’s just say it’s very emotional– to me– but I can’t pull myself away enough to know if it will be emotional to other readers without any significant backstory of the characters. I mean, love is love, regardless, right?

Anyway. Results will come October 22. I’m sure you’ll hear one way or another. (And then a little over a week later, we get to do NaNoWriMo again!)

Leave a Reply

