Writing

Switching Gears

I was writing a movie.

Then the first scene went on for twenty-six pages and I realized I wasn’t writing a movie anymore.

Episodic television, folks. That’s where my future lies. I’m only partially kidding. Once I get the format down, I really think I might make a go of this. I’ve got material for three seasons already written, and three more outlined. It’s an interesting premise… and would be a better venue for the stories of Emi, Nate and Jack.

Maybe the books never get published. Maybe no one ever hears of my three stars and their stories of love and loss until the fall previews hit the airwaves one summer.

Can you tell I’m a little excited? Well, I am.

I’ve spent the past week watching all of the episodes of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. You may be wondering why I’m watching a television show that was canceled mid-season and only ran for 22 episodes…

Because it was fucking brilliant, that’s why.

It was introduced the same season as 30 Rock, with the same premise only Studio 60 was a drama and 30 Rock, of course, is a comedy. I watched both for awhile… and eventually got behind on Studio 60 (as most people I guess did). I still love 30 Rock, and after seeing an interview with Aaron Sorkin last week as he promoted the Social Network, I thought I’d watch Studio 60 from start to finish.

I am so glad I did. I think I cried in every damn episode! It’s the exact kind of television I want to write. Smart, fast-paced, emotional, reverent and relevant… there were real people with real problems… people were flawed, and it was okay. I just love his characters, all of them… Jack, Jordan, Danny, Matt, Harriett, Simon, Tom, Andy, Lucy, Derrius… well, not Ricky and Ron. They were the bad guys. It’s okay to not love them. (But, pray tell, how does one create a villain out of Harry from Sex and the City (Evan Handler)?! Yeah, I don’t know, either, but Sorkin does.)

Anyway, I know I have a lot to learn about screenwriting and television, so I better start doing that and stop blogging for the night.

Leave a Reply

