Writing

Calling All Storytellers! It’s NaNoWriMo!

November is National Novel Writing Month! Some of you may remember that I participated and won last year by reaching my goal of 50,000 written in the month of November. I encourage and invite ALL of you to join in this year!

What’s the point? To write 50,000 words in a new novel in the month of November. It sounds like a lot, but it really isn’t!! 1,667 words per day. If you only write for two hours a day, it’s less than 900 words an hour! That’s EASY! The goal is to prove to yourself that YOU, TOO can write a novel. Anyone can… it just takes discipline and a few good ideas. It can be fiction or non-fiction, it’s up to you. No Plot? No Problem! (Thanks, NaNoWriMo creator Chris Baty for that.)

I need to recruit some other potential writers to help keep me on task. YOU will be my social life in November. What’s that mean for the rest of you? You’ll hear a lot of “no”s from me, unfortunately. No going out for lunch, dinner, drinks. No Facebooking. No iPhone gaming. No TV. Writing is my life in November… if I get ahead of the game, there’ll be a better chance I can do social things. But if I’m running behind, I will be in full-on hermit mode. Hopefully we can have a celebratory happy hour when I hit my goal.

Leave a Reply

