Writing

Time Is Running Out…

…but how do I communicate that with a big-time literary agency in New York?

A few weeks ago, I decided to give one agent exclusive review of my materials. She requested them for four weeks from the date of receipt. I had really hoped to hear something from her, have her request the full book, full series, sign me, give me millions of dollars, whatever.

Next Monday is the four-week marker… and I haven’t heard anything from her or her assistant.

I’m not sure what to say… I want to send some little nudge just to make sure they didn’t forget about little ol’ me, but I don’t want to be a nuisance and I don’t want to seem desperate (even though I am). What really sucks is that Monday is also the beginning of NaNoWriMo… so the day I need to start logging 1,667 words-a-day will also be the same day I may have to start peddling my book to potential agents again. I didn’t want to have to split my focus in November, but each second that ticks by with no response from this awesome agent brings me closer to doing just that.

The Emi Lost & Found series is good… it’s damn good. Emi’s story is real, it’s emotional, it’s everything women (and even some men) my age want to read. Of course, I’m biased because I wrote it, but so what… I don’t have to re-read it over and over again, but I do. I like to feel her conflict, her sadness, her happiness… I like to feel, in general. This series delivers on that… I just have to find an agent who likes to feel, too… and then likes to sell that to the masses.

Leave a Reply

