About Me

Time For A Musical Interlude…

Hi, again! So, music, right? Who can live without it? Not me, that’s for sure. And I definitely can’t write without it! It’s great, because somehow my mind knows when to tune out lyrics and put the pretty melodies in the background, as well as when to highlight lyrics that fit my character’s situation perfectly!

Last November, it was the Decemberists. All. The. Way. They had such an effect on me that they even performed a concert for Emi and Jack in her book. Well, not for them personally, but they went to see them. I still can’t not listen to the Decemberists FAR more often than one should listen to a solitary band, but there are still times when one song will remind me of this time, last year. I love that.

This year, iTunes suggested I buy an album by Hellogoodbye. I have no idea who they are, although I feel like I’ve heard the name before… then again, those are two pretty common words in English all smooshed together. I read the description of their “Would it Kill You?” album and listened to a sample of one of the tracks. I proceeded to buy the whole damn album.

Hello, Kaydra’s soundtrack. I needed happy, upbeat, optimistic, and that’s exactly what I got. Apparently their other music is a little emo, so I’m staying away from that for now… but this album is perfection. If you haven’t heard of them or heard any of their music, check out the song Coppertone. There is something hauntingly nostalgic and utterly beautiful about it. I can’t stop listening, and I can’t stop singing, swaying and smiling. I look like a complete fool in my car, trust me.

Also, my friend Clayton suggested an iPad app called Aweditorium. Holy hell, the awesomeness! I discovered three new bands and downloaded their albums, and I’m now getting to know them all better. (Clayton has awesome taste in music. He knew who Zero7 was before I had to hum any of their songs.) If you have an iPad, get this app.

Anyway. I guess I need to get started (yes, it’s 5:20 and I haven’t started) on today’s word count. We’re aiming for 5,000 today, 5,000 Wednesday and then 20,000 more between the 18th and the 30th. I want to hit 65,000 words this NaNoWriMo!!

Leave a Reply

