Uncategorized

One Week Until NaNoWriMo! What am I writing about?

I’m ready.  Are you?

I am so excited this year.  I’ve got a great idea that I might be able to wrap up in 50,000 words (+30,000 maybe).  It’s the first year that I will be working on a project that I know I can wrap up by the end of the year, if I stay diligent.  (A rough draft, that is.)  In the past two years, I was working on books in the second series… books that I figure will have 100k+ words based on the outlines and based on my previous novels.  I’m still working on both of them (but I did win NaNoWriMo both years), plus one more.  It’s hard to work so hard on something, and still come out of the month with nothing that anyone can read yet.

I hope it’s different this year, though.  I hope to have a story for my fans that will catch them up with some well-loved characters from the Emi Lost & Found series.  This will be Livvy’s story, likely picking up about 10 years after Never Look Back ended.  I don’t have much of an outline, but I know what the general arc of the story will be.  I imagine it will be as emotional as the rest of my books, but much cleaner (obviously).  I don’t know if it will be YA, but that’s what I’m thinking.  (Yeah, I’m struggling with the idea, too, but a teenager’s going to be the main character… I can’t make that R-rated.  Not with our Contessa.)

Hopefully it will be good enough to put out as sort of an addendum to the series.  Anyone else participating this year?  What’s your story?

One thought on “One Week Until NaNoWriMo! What am I writing about?

  1. I’m all up ons the NaNo this year! My project is a contemporary fantasy piece set in rural Minnesota. Here’s the teaser I wrote up:

    “Pick up a paper or read the news, and the headlines are always the same: ethnic cleansing, biological weapons, environmental destruction, and mass starvation. Everywhere you look, you see the end of the world.”

    Unsure of her identity, unsure of her future, and unsure of her place in the world, Amanda Leonard has spent most of her life away from the small, rural town where she was born, studying at a private boarding school. After graduation, she decides to returns home, hoping to find some answers, and some relief from the forebodings of imminent disaster that haunt her thoughts. Instead, she finds that the end of the world is a lot closer to home than she ever imagined. . .

Leave a Reply

