About Me · Writing

Monkey? Get off my back!

I knew I had to write today.  I knew it three days ago, that Saturday was going to have to be a kick-it-in-gear type of writing-day.  I’m nearing the end of Livvy’s story, and I find I seem to lose a little steam at the end of books because I don’t want to leave my characters behind.

Last night, I set a goal of 2,500 words to write today.  I knew it was high, but achievable.  I was excited about it last night, and even had some new ideas about the story line.

This morning, I woke up at 5:30.  I took the dog out at 6.  I went back to bed shortly after that.  I woke up at 9.  I woke up again at 9:30.  I checked my stats.  I ate some Frosted Mini Wheats.  I googled some stuff.  I texted some friends.  I visited Facebook.  I went back to bed.  I woke up at 1.  I worried until 1:30 that I’d never finish writing before my awesome Paris movie night that I had planned with my best friends.  I bathed.  I took the dog out again.  I googled some more stuff.

Then I turned off my WiFi.  I started playing my concentration music.  I decided to transcribe the voice memo I’d left myself about Livvy and Emi’s chat.  And BOOM!  I was writing again.  Thank God.

The words flowed freely, too.  The voice memos turned into 2,502 words and gave me a nice stopping point, too.  The next scene is reconciliation.  (A part of me wishes I could write this from Emi’s point of view, but I’m in Livvy’s head.  But hey… outtake, anyone?)  I’m excited about the next scene… and the two that follow… I’m so close to the end!

So, anyway, I just wanted to let the world know that I am happy to say that this pesky little writing monkey has been removed from my back for now.  I hear he’s scheduled to come back tomorrow.  It’s okay.  I’ve got my weapons.  I will have a 5,000 word weekend.

2 thoughts on “Monkey? Get off my back!

    1. Ahhh, thanks! 🙂 I have two other albums, but iTunes doesn’t sell them anymore! Weird.

      I hit 2,601 words today. Grand total for the weekend is 5,103. Go. Me. And thanks for your support!

Leave a Reply

