Publishing and Marketing · Writing

I’m ready for my pitch!

So, after a month of trying to wrap my brain around “high concept” pitches, my friends and I finally cracked the code tonight.  It required a well-written novel, then a well-written summary of said novel, a few margaritas, a few friends, and a gazillion texts among us to figure it out, but I finally feel like I’m prepared for my pitch this weekend at the North Texas Two Step Writers Conference.

I’m taking multiple deep breaths now.

So the title has been chosen, the ‘tagline’ has been written, and a query letter has been prepared for Ms. Fury.  I saw her last year at the DFW Writers Conference, and I thought she was very creative, very funny and very classy.  She seemed to recognize good talent, and she seemed to understand that each author poured their heart and soul into their work.  I’m really looking forward to the very few minutes I’ll get to speak with her, and I hope I can convince her to give my manuscript a shot.

Now, it’s just a matter of committing everything to memory.  So with work looming in the immediate future (8 hours and 23 minutes from now), I think I’ll go spend some time reading, re-reading and re-re-reading.

Thank you to Clarinda, Nikki and Katie for helping me prepare for the pitch.  I couldn’t have done it without you.

2 thoughts on “I’m ready for my pitch!

Leave a Reply

