Publishing and Marketing · Writing

Today, I’m taking CHOSEN back

Thirteen weeks.

That’s how long my dream literary agent has had exclusive access to my first young adult manuscript, Chosen.

Today, I take it all back.

All of it.

I’ve given her plenty of time to consider my book, and I’m just going to accept that she doesn’t want it… because the truth is, she obviously doesn’t want it badly enough. I’ve wasted three months. That’s three months that I’ve kept Livvy’s story from people who have actually asked for it… the readers.

I’d considered continuing the querying process to try to find a literary agent, but I’m not sure why. Why do I want to wait a year and a half (minimum!) to deliver this book to the world? That’s an insane amount of time, and the way the publishing industry is going, I don’t really think it’s a smart move. I suck at marketing myself, yes… but that’s no reason to deprive people who enjoy my characters from reading what’s next.

So… I think Chosen is destined to be self-published. I’m finishing up her second book, but it will probably be awhile before I have time to go through and edit it because I want to get the third book done before NaNoWriMo. I’m very driven, and I love what I do… and I have these goals for myself that I intend to keep. So you, as the reader, won’t have to wait a year and a half, but you will have to wait a little while…

…but maybe not for Chosen. It’d be a little risky to publish it without finishing the series, but I feel like the happenings in that book are pretty solid. The foundation’s set. I definitely think I can work with what I’ve already written… but we’ll see. I’ll let y’all know later in July.

4 thoughts on “Today, I’m taking CHOSEN back

  1. While it’s not what you had in mind when you first sent it to her, ultimately it’s better to have some closure so you can get on with your life. Best of luck with Chosen!

  2. Stoopid agent! Well, it’s her loss.

    I bet you feel better now that you’ve decided on a way forward though. And us readers can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

