About Me · Writing

Life after Fifty Shades of Grey

I read Master of the Universe (which was the original title of Fifty Shades of Grey when it was still Twilight fan fiction). Not all of it, but what appears to be the first two books in the Fifty Shades trilogy. I have an ethical problem with pulling fan fiction for profit, but that’s not what I’m here to discuss today.

My books have been included on a “what to read after Fifty Shades of Grey” list, and another reader suggested I recommend my series again to those who have read Fifty. Anytime someone recommends my books for whatever reason, I’m grateful, but I want to be clear: Emi Lost & Found is not the next Fifty Shades of Grey. Do I believe that my series is good enough to garner mainstream attention? Yes. Is it taboo? Nope. Will it surprise you? Yes.

Instead of saying all the things my books aren’t (there’s no BDSM and wouldn’t be classified as erotica, for instance), I’ll tell you what you will find in the series.

  1. There are well developed characters with rich histories and families.
  2. You will be torn between two men. You’ll want to strangle Emi at times, but you’ll want to cheer her on, too.
  3. The three books in the series are told from different characters’ points of view, each with their own unique voice.
  4. The characters have traits and flaws like people you probably know.
  5. The characters react to situations in realistic manners, in language and actions.
  6. The love scenes are not graphic, but are just descriptive enough. There are no throbbing members or heaving bosoms, nor are there repeated references to ‘down there.’ I aim for tasteful sex scenes, with descriptions that are unique and accurate to each narrator. I’d give the series an R rating overall.
  7. The books are meant to be a trilogy, and read as such. When people refer to Emi Lost & Found in the romance genre, they’re taking into account all three books. On their own, the books (may or) may not fulfill the ‘requirements’ of a traditional romance novel.
  8. You will feel… you will feel a lot as you read these. There will be tears, but there will be laughter, too. But get your Kleenex.
  9. There are twists along the way.
  10. There are consequences.
  11. The books are relatively safe to read in public. Relatively, I said.
  12. I do believe in happily ever after.
  13. There’s a fun little novella that’s actually a prequel, but it’s best read after the series. You can get it on Amazon.com, too.
  14. There are more books in the works that are related to this series. I like to call them spin-offs. One is a YA (possibly New Adult) series of three books that is in the editing phase. It’s about Livvy, twelve years after Never Look Back. Another series follows a three-year period of Steven Holland’s life, in a format similar to the Emi Lost & Found series. (Steven is Jack’s youngest brother.)
  15. The series overall has 4.42 out of 5 stars on goodreads.com with 173 ratings. [As of 3/24/13, the series maintains 4.42 stars out of 1419 ratings! [As of 12/27/14, the series has 4.34 stars out of 6,838 ratings!]] For comparison’s sake, the Fifty Shades trilogy has 3.82 stars. Twilight has 3.63. The Hunger Games has 4.29. Granted, they all have quite a few more reviews, but I’ll get there… someday, I’ll get there.
  16. A lot of people already know the secret of the books, and have left some wonderful reviews!

So, are you ready to give Emi Lost & Found a try? Most of the sites have previews, so you can read a short bit first, or hey! NOT TODAY, BUT SOMEDAY, the prequel in the series is FREE!

 

2 thoughts on “Life after Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. I have a friend who has a friend who, in my friend’s words “fancies herself an author”. When it comes to writing sex scenes, someone suggested that her friend read FSoG as an example. Her friend asked my friend to read them first and give her opinion, which was something along the lines of ‘the books are interesting but I don’t know if the sex is what you’d want to write.’ I immediately recommended that my friend and her friend read the Emi Lost and Found Series. My friend because, well she should. And her friend because if she wants an example of how to write tasteful and still hot, passionate sex, in all it’s many guises, these books are precisely where she needs to look. Definitely NOT FSoG. Despite my status as a fan of those books, I think you have a way of writing such scenes that is unique and would be far more helpful to an aspiring author.

    And that’s just the sex scenes 😉

Leave a Reply

