Publishing and Marketing · Random

Temporary price cuts for all full-priced novels!

Over the next few days, you will see the prices dropping for all of my full priced novels. I know some of you may be upset by these price cuts, but I hope you understand my reasoning… or will at least give me a chance to explain.

My books went on sale in March of 2011. That’s more than a year and a half ago. I felt that they were good enough to be read by more people than my friends, but I had a hell of a time getting the word out there to readers. Self-promotion’s not my thing; I’ll be the first to admit that.

Anyway, interest picked up a little in September of this year. I don’t really know what made it happen, but on one of my Lost and Found free days, I had thousands of downloads. These turned into modest sales of the other books in the series. Sales waned again in October and November, and then out of the blue, a promotional site with a lot of clout touted Lost and Found (which–again–was free), and thousands more of you downloaded the book. I’d never dreamed that I’d get that many downloads in a few days. Those downloads have turned into sales of the other books again–and this time, I’m starting to create a small following of devoted fans.

Without these readers who paid full-price for most of the books, I wouldn’t be where I’m at today. I can’t thank you guys enough for believing in my books enough to pay your hard-earned money for them. I hope that you still feel like the price you paid for them was fair. I feel as if they’re undervalued, but for a self-published author, I can’t ask for much more than that.

So many of you have said that more people should know about these books–and I agree with you. I’ve felt that Emi’s story was a good story, a moving story–an important story–since I started it back in 2008. I’m so happy other people are catching on. I feel like I’m at a pivotal point now, where I need to take advantage of the small amount of buzz I’m getting and try to bring more people into the fold.

So in an effort to introduce more people to the Emi Lost & Found series, I will be temporarily lowering the prices of the books in that series to the following:

Time Stands Still – $1.99
Never Look Back – $1.99
The Emi Lost & Found series – $2.99 (gasp!)
In addition, Contessa will also be offered for $1.99 for Nook and Kindle. Lost and Found will remain free.

Once these prices go into effect, they will remain at the lowered price until January 2nd. That’s a week from now. It takes a few days for price changes to happen, so check here for links to the books on your favorite reseller site.

If you’re recommending these books to friends, this is the time to introduce them to Nate, Emi and Jack.

*It’s not likely that Apple will be participating in the sale. If you read books on your iPad or iPhone, check out Smashwords. You can get epubs that go right into iBooks from there! You can also download the free Kindle or Nook apps from the App Store!

Leave a Reply

