About Me · Random

Two A-HA moments… and a lot of gratitude!

I had two profound realizations tonight that really put me in a zen state of mind.

  1. A few people this week have told me that my books have changed their lives. You know what? You readers have changed my life. Comments like that touch me deeply, and make me realize that I’ve really accomplished something if a reader is telling me that. I’ve been brought to tears by a handful of emails I’ve received and numerous wall posts on Facebook or messages on Twitter. I have no doubt that your words have affected me as much as my stories may have affected you.
  2. Many of you know how much I’ve struggled with the negative reviews of Lost and Found. The overwhelming majority of people who’ve reviewed the book have been very complimentary, so why do I let a handful of comments ruin my day? I’m not sure… but it seems silly now. The fact that so many readers are loyal to Nate, or love Jack, or cheer for Emi, or want to strangle Livvy means that I’ve done something right. So some people don’t get into the characters, or don’t see the point in the stories. So what? So many more of you do, and that’s what I need to focus on. Dwelling on negative comments is just a poisonous distraction that keeps me from doing what I love: writing.

Thank you to all of you who’ve reached out to me, and thank you for sticking with Emi through her journey. Thank you for recommending the books to your friends. Thank you for asking your library to stock my books. Thank you for having meaningful discussions with other readers. Thank you for allowing me to have more time in my imaginary world. Thank you for encouraging me to keep writing. Thank you for telling me that you can’t wait for the next book, or series.

All I wanted to do was write a simple love story. It turned into an epic undertaking that transformed me as a person. Thank you for letting me know that I’ve made an impact. It was never what I set out to do, but it’s rewarding to know that I have.

Leave a Reply

