About Me · Random

It’s my 2-year anniversary as a published author!

Two color
I kind of can’t believe it. Two years ago today, I bit the bullet and released my sweet Nate and Emi out into the wild for public inspection and ridicule. Together, we’ve grown thick skin, and added Jack, Livvy and Jon to our little world. When I started writing again back in 2008, I had deep-rooted fear that this was just a passing fancy – that I would get tired of writing or run out of ideas or quit when the publishing part required more attention than I wanted to give it. Back then, I wanted to believe that I’d be where I am today, but I honestly didn’t.

I’m so glad I proved myself wrong.

Trust me, there are plenty of times when I wish I could rewind and just get lost in the story all night long like I used to before I had to worry about sales and marketing. Back then, I could survive on two to three hours of sleep every night. It’s not like that anymore. The business side of publishing really does require an inordinate amount of my time and zaps a considerable amount of my energy.

I am starting to think this is all just a state of mind, though. I think I can push myself further and get back to the joy of writing for four, five, even six hours at a time. That was when I was happiest. I want to get back there, but I know I can’t abandon the work I’ve done to get where I am today. This has been such a rewarding time for me, getting feedback from readers and interacting with people who are truly becoming friends. I feel so blessed that what I’ve done has brought me here.

Thank you to everyone who’s put up with me for the past four and a half years. Friendships have been strained, I know, but I hope that I’ll turn a corner soon, and have more time to write – and more time to focus more on the people who’ve stood by me from the beginning. Your belief in me means the world. Thank you.

8 thoughts on “It’s my 2-year anniversary as a published author!

  1. I know I’ve said this before, but I am truly in awe of everything you’ve accomplished. I know you will have time to tune out the world and write to your heart’s content again. Meanwhile, enjoy this amazing business you’ve built. You deserve every sale, every good review, every new fan!

  2. Happy Anniversary! I’m so glad you bit that bullet. You’ve enriched so many lives with your stories, and mine doubly so with your friendship. Love ya, Lori!

  3. Lori, you have given us so much with your incredible talent of telling a story. Really, really great stories that touch our hearts and soul, just as you have touched us, deeply. Congratulations on your bid day and mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnyyyyyy more to come. JS.

  4. I can’t believe its been 2 years! Where have I been? Think its been 3 wonderful months I’ve emersed myself in your world! I am so grateful to you for bringing these characters to my life. You have a true gift, these characters are so real to me, and this is just the beginning. Thats what gets me excited! I can’t wait for what the future holds and to read more of your books. 🙂

  5. Congratulations, and Happy Anniversary! You’re right, though: it does change you. When I was writing my weird unpublished novel, I was stuck on how to kill a character. I was in the employee lounge at work, talking to my friend Maria, and it hit me. My face lit up, and I said, “Pneumonia! Amy’s going to die of a new strain of pneumonia!” And I was giddy that Amy was going to die. Maria was a little freaked out. Writers are weird.

    As polished as your writing is, I imagine you were in a difficult-to-explain place for quite awhile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

