About Me · Random · Writing

NaNoWriMo? It’s not NOVEMBER!

Camp NaNoWriMo 2013No, I know it’s not NaNoWriMo November… it’s April. It’s time for Camp NaNoWriMo! We go to “camp” twice a year – in April and in July – so we can fulfill our writerly fantasies at other times of the year. Since it’s already been decided I won’t be taking my vacation in November to participate, I figured I might as well participate now! Plus, I need a kick in the pants. I’ve been in a writing rut for a few months, and I need to write myself out of it. So far, so good. I’m just over the 1,667/day goal on day two. I need to get ahead, because while I won’t get to take vacation for this, I am going to Vegas for four days for work, so I doubt there will be much writing done then.

What am I writing? Most of my readers will be happy to know that my Olivia rewrites will represent the bulk of these 50,000 words. That’s not all, though! I’m so anxious to give you a taste of Steven Holland that I’m planning to finish the prequel this month, too. It will likely involve four chapters, narrated by some of your old favorites (Jack and Matty) and some of the new characters I really want you to know (Stevie and Renee).  This little snippet of the story takes place a few months before Lost and Found begins, chronologically. (Did you know that story begins on 12/31/06? Well, now you do.) So this occurs sometime in August, shortly after Steven has made the decision to make his permanent home in Dallas, Texas.

I’ll try not to do the word counts every day. I know that gets boring for you (and a bit obsessive for me), but I’ll keep you abreast of the stories’ progresses. Is that right? Gosh. I think that’s a sign that I’m done for tonight.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo? It’s not NOVEMBER!

Leave a Reply

