Publishing and Marketing · Random

Olivia

Olivia.
Sweet Olivia.
When’s Olivia coming out?
I wish I knew.

In 2012, I wrote nearly non-stop. I wrote three books in 13 months. Three hella-long books. When I came up for breath, I thought the first book was great. I thought the third book was brilliant. I thought the second book was a mess.

Truth be known, I realized book two was a mess while I was writing it, but I knew I needed to push through and finish writing, and that the time to edit would come later.

Well, it’s later… and it’s not about editing now, it’s about re-writing.

This is not the time to panic. I know this, but you, the reader, probably don’t. I’ve been through this before.

Lost and Found was the first book I ever wrote (pretty much). I wrote straight through and finished the first drafts for that, Time Stands Still and Never Look Back. I had a similar epiphany when I finished that series: books two and three were pretty solid. Book one needed help.

What was wrong then? Nate wasn’t developed enough. I knew Nate. I knew how great he was. I didn’t think I had convinced the readers of that. I also didn’t think people would care about Emi at all. In the first draft of Lost and Found, there was no first chapter from her point of view. Many of the sweet or angst-y interactions of Emi and Nate were missing. It wasn’t good enough. So what happened?

I buckled down and wrote some more. I added full chapters; I added paragraphs; I even peppered sentences and words into conversations. It was meticulous and painstaking but it was what had to be done, and it was worth it.

Is Lost and Found the best book I’ve written? Nope. Is it a hell of a lot better in its fourth/fifth draft form? It definitely is. Although I still see some flaws, I love that book, and I love the characters it introduces.

So we have a little glitch with Olivia. I’ve had some breakthroughs over the last couple months, but I haven’t been able to buckle down and pour through the pages like I need to. I had a big a-ha moment tonight that has my brain churning, so I know I’m on to something.

Fall. That was the last vague date I gave the readers who’ve asked, and I’m still aiming for that. The good news is, there shouldn’t be such a long wait for Livvy for a couple of reasons. First, it flows and it tells the final “chapter” of Livvy’s story. Secondly, I hope to be able to focus on it full time after Olivia is released. I’m about 80% certain I’ll be converting to full-time author status on September 10th. I’m on an “Author or Bust” journey at this point, and I don’t think anyone wants to get in my way.

So, that’s the update. And please, I beg of you, don’t tell me you can’t read the first book without the second and third. It’s that attitude that postpones my goals. If you don’t read my books, you can’t spread the word about them to friends, then they can’t spread the word. If you can’t read them without a complete series, that’s fine, I get it… but I don’t really want to hear about it.

I like to believe that all my readers or “fans” are on this mission with me, and that we’re all working toward the same goals. You want to read more, and I want to write more. It’s a win-win!

Leave a Reply

