About Me · Publishing and Marketing

Emi Lost and Found Day is TODAY! Now with MORE PRIZES!

Fans of Emi Lost & Found, unite! Happy Birthday, Emi!

Today, we are celebrating Emi Lost & Found Day in an effort to raise awareness of the series and promote the books to your friends all around the Internet!

If you would like to join in, here is a list of things you can do to participate! On the 18th, if you send me a screen shot of – or tell me in an email about – what you’re doing to promote the books, I will enter your name into a drawing for one of the following:

  • ONE OF A KIND Emi Lost & Found Day t-shirt
  • a Roku 2 XS (If you’re an Amazon Prime member, you can watch videos on your TV!)
  • a $15 Amazon gift card
  • a $10 Amazon gift card
  • a $5 Amazon gift card

Note, you HAVE TO EMAIL ME by midnight on 5/18 to make sure you’re entered!

1. Review the books

The Where to Buy page has links to my books on all the different retail sites, or you can review on Goodreads. Reviews are one of the best ways to help boost an Indie author’s credibility. We like stars and reviews!

2. Links on Social Media Sites

Post links to either Not Today, But Someday (which is still free!), to the Emi Lost & Found bundled series, Lost and Found, or to my Where To Buy page. The last page mentioned will tell any potential readers about the book, as well as provide links to them so they could purchase the books in whatever format they choose! Here are some instructions on how to do this on Facebook, just in case you’re a newbie! You may want to post one in the morning, one in the evening, and one at night. You could say something simple, like “In honor of Emi Lost & Found Day, I wanted to share this series with you!”

3. Twitter

If you’re active on Twitter, tweet about it! If you follow me on Twitter (@lori_otto), I’ll be tweeting, and you can simply RT any of my messages that day! Or, feel free to create your own enticing messages for your followers! Be sure to include a link in your tweet (you could use any of the ones in the section two, or a link to my blog, too)!

4. SHARE THE LOVE!

Tell your friends about the series! Tell them how it’s right up their alley, or tell them how it’s different from other books out there. If you have a paperbook, let someone borrow it to read! Same for Kindle books (although they have a one-time lending limit). If you’re out of lends on Kindle, send your friends to BookLending.

5. Post your recommendations on book blogs and book-related Facebook pages

You know how you can leave your own recommendations on most book blogs or Facebook pages? Well, I, as an author, can’t self-promote that way (in most cases), but you guys are free to recommend. Just check the terms that each page has to make sure it’s okay, but in 99% of the pages I’ve seen, that’s how it’s done.

6. Wear an Emi-related shirt on May 18th – or make your own!

They’re on sale at RedBubble and they typically ship relatively quickly! Reader JoAnn made her own #getottod (Get Otto’d) shirt, which is super cute!!

7. Badges

I’ve created these badges for you to use on your websites or other social sites you use regularly. Feel free to click to see the full-size image, then save that on to your computer and upload it as you would any image file! When your friends ask you what they are about, go back to Step 4!

Note, using the square badge I’ve designed as your profile picture will make more of an impact, especially if you have other friends participating in Emi Lost & Found Day. Imagine a social media feed with lots of little turquoise and white squares leaving comments. 🙂

Emi-Lost-and-Found-Profile


3-Covers-pictoral

2-Covers-pictoral

Team-Nate-Cover-Pictoral

Team-Emi-Cover-Pictoral

Team-Jack-Cover-Pictoral

Keep an eye out on my Facebook Page for any news or ideas that day! Feel free to share your ideas down below, or on my page!

Thank you all for your help in spreading the word about my series!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s