Abram is Livvy’s agent. He’s sophisticated. He’s astute. He’s twenty-five, and he has an eye for art.

He also has an eye for his client, Livvy Holland. Here’s a little snippet from OLIVIA, to be released June 17th!

Teaser2

“Such a birds-eye point of view,” Abram says.  “How could one not be voyeuristic living in a place like this?”

“Well, one wouldn’t stare out the window at them,” I say softly, mocking his accent.  This gets his attention, and he finally looks away.

“It is a little rude, isn’t it?” he admits.  “I was raised with better manners.  But who wouldn’t get carried away, with lovers behaving in such a way?  In public, no less,” he explains.

“What, like you’ve never made out with anyone in public?” I ask him.

“Not once,” Abram says, and I believe him.  “And you have?”

“Maybe once,” I answer.  This time, it is a lie.

“Displays of affection like that,” he says, “they’re much more American than British, to say the least.”

“I didn’t know that,” I tell him with a shrug, trying to envision him carried away with any emotions at all.  He is always so even-tempered and polite.  The conversation between Matty and me returns to my mind, and I feel compelled to ask Abram the question my uncle had planted into my head a few months ago since he’d never gotten the chance to.  “My uncle and I were joking,” I start.  “We were curious who you would find more attractive: me or him.”

He looks a little offended.  “Livvy, you think I’m gay?”

“I don’t,” I laugh.  “My uncle thought he picked up on something when he met you.  Honestly, I don’t know.”  I shrug my shoulders.

“Let me assure you,” he says, moving closer to me, “that your uncle’s senses are off.”

“Okay, I’ll let him know.”  Growing a little uncomfortable, I start to walk toward the chair where the painting hangs.  The touch of his hand on mine startles me, and he clasps it, tugging at my arm gently, bringing me back to him.

“And let me assure you–” he repeats.

“I understand,” I laugh nervously.  He puts his finger under my chin and tilts my face to his.

“I assure you that I find you infinitely more attractive,” he whispers.

“Okay.”  I try to take my hand back, but his grip tightens.  Before I have another chance to pull away, his lips are on mine and both of his hands have moved once more to the small of my back.  He holds my body tight against him as he kisses me, even as I try to push away from him.

OLIVIA ©2014 Lori L. Otto – release date June 17, 2014