About Me · Random · Writing

Life as a full-time author: week one recap

So, this week has been a lot of fun!

In between job searches, I put in a lot of time writing in order to reach my 25,000-word-a-week goal. Did I make it? Of course I did, and with two days to spare! As of this very second, I’m sitting at 25,128 words. I wrote an additional chapter in Love Like We Do (side a) thanks to a suggestion from a pre-reader, and spent the rest of my time writing six and a half brand new chapters in Love Like We Do (side b). It’s all new material, and I’m really enjoying the process of getting to know Max and Callen. It’s one thing to see them from Trey and Jon’s points of view. It’s another thing entirely to be in their heads.

Is LLWD-sb shaping up like I expected it to? Ummm… I don’t think so. It’s definitely more challenging to write than I expected it to be, but I love the story. Because of the story, it’s taken me a little outside of my comfort zone a few times, but I don’t necessarily think that’s a bad idea. Sometimes we have to stretch as artists, so I’m just considering this a nice mental workout. I’ve sent the first six chapters off to my most trusted source to see what she thinks. My fingers are crossed that she can see the good in them, too. While I await her opinion, I’ll just carry on with the book because the process of writing is bringing me so much joy and self-satisfaction I can hardly contain myself. Is this what full-time authors get to feel all the time? Color me jealous.

This week, I was featured on Busy Beaver Button Co.’s blog! I’ve ordered a bunch of different buttons from them that I use as swag for my signings, so they decided to interview me a few weeks ago. I love this company and their products, so it was a thrill to get to be mentioned by them!

I’m still struggling with the marketing aspect, finding it difficult to promote what I feel like so many in my audience already knows. I think next week, I’ll look into finding a new audience to market to. Maybe explore publicity companies or services, I don’t know. I’m open to suggestions, but keep in mind I’m unemployed. 🙂 I also need to blog more. My goal is three times next week, and about interesting topics. (Wish me luck!)

In the meantime, I’ll remind all of you that my Choisie series is now exclusive to Kindle and paperback. This means Kindle Unlimited subscribers can read the entire four-book Choisie series for free, including all the extras included with Contessa, Olivia and Livvy. Stay tuned for a special Contessa promo, too! Kindle Unlimited is a program that gives readers access to over 800,000 ebooks and thousands of audiobooks for $9.99 a month, but you can try it out for a month for free!

Also, the prequel to Emi Lost & Found called Not Today, But Someday is ALWAYS FREE and is currently available for Nook, iBooks and Kindle. Tell all of your reader-friends!

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend, and if you’re in the path of the typhoon, please take shelter with a flashlight and a good book. Be safe!

3 thoughts on “Life as a full-time author: week one recap

Leave a Reply

