Copyright Lori L. Otto · Publishing and Marketing · Writing

Love Like We Do (news on BOTH sides!)

LoveLikeWeDoBothFrontsTogether

I’m well into the second book in my Love Like We Do series–about 82,000 words into it–so I figured it was about time to let you in on the description of Side B. And while we’re at it, I’m going to show you the cover of that one, too!

In LOVE LIKE WE DO – SIDE B, Max experiences the excitement of first love and the crushing disappointment of rejection when he realizes that the person he cares for is too ashamed to be with him. For Callen to be honest with himself and to live the life he wants to live, he knows he risks becoming ostracized by his own parents and society. For someone who’s always been strong and confident, he’s never felt so weak or afraid to stand up for what he believes is right for him.
This is Max and Callen’s side of the story.

lovelikewedo-cover-B-final

As you can see with this beautiful cover, also designed by DCP designs, a little life and color has been infused into the impactful picture chosen for this series. I decided to use the same photograph because this series is essentially the story of one summer told from four different perspectives. Side A is from two outsiders’ perspectives. We get an insider look in Side B.

I also want to use this opportunity to talk a little more about the series and the genre. I’m calling it Contemporary Adult fiction, even though three out of four narrators are teenagers. The subject matter skews more adult, so that’s the way I’m going with it. This is different from my other series. This isn’t a romance story. I hesitate to call it a social issue story. It’s really just about life.

As you can tell from the description, the characters in this book are both guys. In Side B, they are in pursuit of a relationship with one another. I had a reader ask me if I would be labeling this m/m, which is a valid question. I guess it technically is, but I’ve always associated that label with more erotic stories and this one isn’t. I think that may just be my interpretation of it, though, so label it as you will. Is this book about a gay relationship? Yes, it is.

Some of you may be wondering why I decided to write this series. It’s not like Emi Lost & Found and the Choisie series, I know. What I’ve always done, from day one, is write what the characters tell me to write. When characters speak to me, I listen. I’ve had a lot of them speaking to me this year, but Max and Callen were the most vocal. Sometime last year, when I realized Max would be gay, this story began to unfold because Max and Trey had been friends for years. I couldn’t wait to explore how the relationship would change once one friend came out to another. And then there were more layers, because Max is the youngest of three brothers, and there was another story there that needed to be told. There were parents to consider, other friends, and of course, the boyfriend. Once I met Callen, I realized what an interesting and complex character he would be. And the story just took off from there.

I’m very proud of the way that Side A turned out, and I’m happy with how Side B is progressing. I think it’s an important story that a lot of people will enjoy. I really feel like anyone could read Side A, and it can be read as a stand alone… but I’m hoping that once readers experience it, they’ll be curious enough about Max and Callen to read Side B, as well.

Add the books to your Goodreads lists today (linked below), and stay tuned for news on release dates!

Love Like We Do (Side A) | Love Like We Do (Side B)

5 thoughts on “Love Like We Do (news on BOTH sides!)

  1. This is definitely different and I can’t wait to read it. I already like Max so it would be nice to know him more. Love the new cover!

Leave a Reply

