About Me · Random

Timbuk2 just rocked my world

IMG_0725Sorry for the advertisement. I don’t normally talk about products on my blog, but I just had the best online purchase experience in my life, and I have to give credit where credit is due.

I’m pretty sure I got a job. (I’m not saying definitively until they invite me to come to work after the background check and drug test results are in. There’s no reason for me to believe there will be ANY problems, but I’m the person who walks around stores with my hands showing at all times so that no one thinks I’m shoplifting even though I never have and never will. It doesn’t make sense, but that’s just the way I am.) The job is downtown, and it will be much better on my stress levels to take our DART train to work instead of fighting traffic in my car, so that’s what I’ve decided to do. I needed a new bag to carry my stuff in, so a few weeks ago, I started researching some online.

I finally found one that was the right size at Timbuk2 and I customized it with materials that wouldn’t show that I poked it all to hell with my buttons, if I decided to do that (and I probably will, because I like my buttons). I didn’t buy it at the time because I hadn’t gotten a job offer then.

But last Sunday night, at 10:30pm, I decided to go ahead and order it. Because it’s a custom bag, it does cost a little more, and it has a 5-7 day production window. So I built it out again and put everything in my cart, and to my surprise, there was a 30% discount on everything. (That sale’s still going on through 10/2, I think.) Anyway. I didn’t even know about the sale. Because I saved so much on the bag, I decided to pay for rush shipping. Otherwise, it would take about two weeks for production and shipping, and I’m a little impatient.

As you can see by the picture, that’s my bag. That’s my bag on my chair. In my apartment. It’s Tuesday. I got it at 10:00am today. It took less than 36 hours for them to produce and ship my custom-made messenger bag to me.

I’m sure that this is not standard for them. Maybe they were slow. Maybe they messed up my order (in a good way). Maybe it was just my lucky day, I don’t know. Whatever it was, I am just blown away by the experience.

And now only that, but the bag is awesome! It’s exactly how I designed it and it’s much lighter than I expected it to be. I was worried it would be bulky, but it’s not at all. It feels well-made and has lots of room to carry everything I’ll need. I feel like the kid who just got her backpack and is ready to go to her first day of school!

So, thank you, Timbuk2 for your amazing turn-around on my bag! I look forward to a long and happy relationship with the little guy.

Leave a Reply

