NaNoWriMo 11.04 / Update 2

Hit my first 10,000 words tonight– 10,078 to be exact. I wrote over 4,500 words today total. Squeee! It feels sooo good to be writing again. And it’s silly, because I could do this every week… I just… don’t. There’s no reason why I can’t set goals like this every month. Why can’t every month be NaNoWriMo? Yeah, I don’t see a good reason why not either, so I’m going to try to keep the momentum going through December… and then January… you get the idea. After all, there are three other novels that have been works-in-progress for at least a year. One was my NaNo2009 work. Another was NaNo2010. The other was started somewhere in between those two. It’s a series, so it’s a little less… linear than Livvy’s story. I get a little ADD with the series.

So, Nikki, I’m getting close to posting the first chapter. I just want to read through it a few more times. When you read it, just know that the whole thing could be scrapped at this point. It’s all rough right now, but I want you to have a taste of what I have planned for our little Livvy. Only she’s not so little anymore. She’ll be turning 16 in the story.

Anyway. Thank you, Clarinda, for jumping in as head cheerleading coach tonight and forcing me away from the iPhone. I know what’s best for me; sometimes I just have a hard time doing what’s best.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 11.04 / Update 2

  1. Hey, you caught up to me! I hope you realize . . . this means (word) war.

    Also, I came up with a simple rule for writers to follow outside of NaNo: 5 for 500. 5 days a week, 500 words each day. Doesn’t sound like much, but if you keep it up over a year you have over 150,000 words– easily a novel or possibly two.

    1. I know you’re still beating me. :p I thought about pushing forward, but I was at a good stopping point. I do like a good rivalry, though!

      I love your rule. That’s so freaking easy. (And for me that’d pretty much be A novel.)

      And btw, your post about yours not being a true NaNo… the hell it’s not! I definitely counted mine for the past two years, and those were meticulously planned… last year’s was a year of outlining and character development. In my mind, 50,000 words is 50,000 words. It’s a major accomplishment any way you look at it.

Leave a comment